Skip to main content

IN THIS SECTION
5 posts
katherinet@gre…
Number of patents filed

Hi there,

I am new to the USPTO data and am trying to look for the most current figures in the total number of patents filed by county by year. I know that the data has been previously available in 2015, but there has not been a release of current figures. I have contacted the office multiple times but they send me to different departments who do not have voicemails. I also cannot find an email of someone who works with the statistical data. 

Is there a place to find the number of patents filed currently? I am somewhat familiar with using R and Python, but I don't know which data would be the most useful to find these numbers.

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you! 

Russ
could use bulk files

I don't think this can be done using the api but you could join two of the bulk application files on https://patentsview.org/download/pg-download-tables  Check out the pre-grant data dictionary linked on that page. There can be multiple inventors per application so you probably will want to count only the first applicant's country (see the definition of rawinventor's rawlocation_id in the data dictionary).

If they were database tables you could do something like
select country, year(date), count(1) from application, rawinventor
where application.document_number=rawinventor.document_number and sequence = 0
group by country, year(date) order by country, year(date)

Hopefully you can translate that into R.  There is an R package and python wrapper for the api but you'd be on your own for dealing with the bulk files.

Russ

Russ
wont be perfect